Posted by: L.J. Popp | February 8, 2013

Next Big Thing Blog Hop

What’s a blog hop? Well, I guess I’m learning! I’ve been tagged by Jennifer Eifrig. I’ll post the questions she asked, link back to her blog, and tag four more writers. Let’s see what happens!

Questions:

What is the working title of your book?

I’m currently working on An Honest Assassin, the sequel to my published novel Treasure Traitor.

 Where did the idea come from for the book?

I was doing research on the American Revolution for another book and stumbled across the differing terminology of “rebel” or “patriot,” depending on the point of view. I wondered if I could tell a similar story set in a science fiction world. So my heroine Renagada went from being a treasure trader in the first book to an “honest” assassin in the second. Following the same pattern, the third book will probably be Reluctant Rebel.

What genre does your book fall under?

Young adult science fiction/fantasy with Christian themes.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Hmm, that’s a hard one. Let’s see, Indian actress Sheetal Sheth would make a stunning Renagada. She’s got the perfect eyes. Barring that, a young Bollywood star. General Kyra could be none other than Angelia Jolie. Come on, who else can play a gorgeous, mysterious, possibly evil kick-butt female? Acha would most likely be computer generated. He’s a bird, after all, but for his human voice, I’ve always imagined Robyn Williams. For the men, I don’t really care. As long as they’re pale and sexy, they’ll have to be made up as aliens anyway.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

When eighteen-year-old Rengada is given the chance to overthrow an evil government and undue a horrible mistake, she must choose whether to trust her worst enemy or betray the resistance.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

My book will probably be published by the same wonderful press who took the prequel Treasure Traitor, Starsongs, an imprint of Written World Communications. I don’t currently have an agent, but I’d love one!

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

About six months. I wrote it in Japan.

 What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Hmm, maybe Black, by Ted Decker, The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley, Star Wars Episode V, and possibly Eldest, by Christopher Paolini.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

I’ve lived in several different countries for extended periods of time, particularly as a missionary in Japan and India. It bothered me that there is so little in the American fantasy market inspired by those cultures compared to European-based mythology. I originally envisioned this series to help fill the gap.

 What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

My publisher is running a special on the prequel, Treasure Traitor, for Kendal. It’s only $2.99! Also, L.J. Popp likes to speak to clubs, churches and schools about her adventures abroad. To book her as a presenter, you can email her at laurapopp (at) ymail.com.

Link: Jennifer Eifrig

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

